Let Tomorrow Worry About Itself

124341639682897515_at9yjN6K_cLiving in a fast paced world, we are constantly looking and striving to complete the next chore on our to-do list, thus sometimes leaving our minds filled with worry and grief about what tomorrow may bring because of what may have been left undone. As I write this currently, I have so many ‘to-dos’ that must be completed by the end of the week. I found myself getting to a place of worry and uncertainty, however I am reminded that worrying only defers my capability to think, act, and live in the present. Moreover with God all things are possible, and through HIM all things that we set to do, can and will be accomplished. When you find yourself worrying about the future or the troubles of the next day- ask God for his guidance, to release your troubled mind, and for your faith to to be heightened through the process of trusting that all WILL work out. What’s awesome about  having access to God’s word- is that there is POWER in it when you believe, trust and act on it. ASK, SEEK, KNOCK and what you ask for will be given. ask-seek-knocktumblr_mjidluBaK91qhmhdfo1_500

There should be a  definite balance between being nonchalant and conscience about our life responsibilities. I am not suggesting we be carefree about dreams, duties, and deadlines-for faith is dead without actively working towards what we think and seek. There is a clear distinguishable result  between a  mind that is full of worries, and anxieties versus a mind that is  aware, conscience and MINDFUL. I love the illustration below, as it portrays how we can miss out on the awesomeness of living in the present by having a mind full of clutter from yesterday’s mistakes and worrying about tomorrow’s occurrences.

482082_233426820113404_20487827_nimages

he-holds-the-future

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.- Jeremiah 29;11

God does not want his people to have troubled and burdened minds about tomorrow- he wants us to have a peace of mind about today and  trust that his strength living through us will sustain us  for tomorrow’s encounters. Below is a video of a song that I think and meditate on often. Kelly Price singing -“I know who holds Tomorrow” this song is a constant reminder that I dont have to worry about tomorrow because I have an assurance of who holds my future, and who holds my hand through whatever I may face. I hope this song helps you release your worries about tomorrow, and puts faith, reassurance, and confidence within your spirit to face tomorrow boldly!

Take it One Day at a Time!

do-not-worry-about-tomorrow

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Let Tomorrow Worry About Itself

  1. Marcus Goodridge says:

    Do not worry about tomorrow! This is not a suggestion, but a command. God divided time into days and nights, so that we would have manageable portions of life to handle. His grace is sufficient for you, but its sufficiency is for only one day at a time. When you worry about the future, you heap day upon day of troubles onto your flimsy frame. You stagger under this heavy load, which God never intended you to carry.

    Throw off this oppressive burden with one quick thrust of trust. Anxious thoughts meander about and crisscross in your brain, but trusting God brings you directly into his Presence. As you thus affirm your faith, shackles of worry fall off instantly. Enjoy his Presence continually by trusting him at all times.

    • ldbriggs says:

      Marcus thank you for your comment. Thank you for reinforcing that this word is the Lord’s command to his people in order to live an abundant life. I respect and appreciate your deep thoughts which has made me comprehend this message on a a different level. Same principle- another perspective. Loved it!

  2. kerrilynne says:

    I think this post is really important. Often times we struggle with sitting still because we do live in a society where people are constantly moving as you said. I think we also forget at times to lean on God. I read your post and instantly thought of Hezekiah Walker’s song’s Let Go and Let God. I remember singing it as a child in the church choir but now as I am older I better understand it meant to stand still and let Him have His way in your life. Philippians 4:6 reminds us not to be anxious about anything but in everything by prayer with a thankful spirit let your requests be made known to God. Thank you for the reminder! Can’t wait to read the next post.

    • ldbriggs says:

      Thanks Kerri for sharing the Philippians 4:6 scripture. It is a great addition to the meaning of this post; simply not worrying and trusting through faith and prayer that God will work everything out for the good. I should have included that one! lol but this is why I love the comments, feedback, and engagement so much. We are all able to see new ideas and fresh perspectives we don’t necessarily think of in the moment or maybe- ever!- no 1 person has the answer, so thank you! And of course I’m looking forward to the engagement on the next #LBInspiration post! Love you!

Leave a Reply

