Bearing Good Fruit

Over the past week, I’ve found myself  doing an abundance of self reflection. Throughout the process of observing myself and observing others, it has become clearer to me that spiritual wholeness is the number one  element that will distinguish right from wrong and truth from deceit. We live in a world where the majority of people live their lives reactively instead of proactively- and I too have been guilty of this. The great thing I love about the Bible is that it is a resource to find guidance and help we need through any situation we may encounter. Today I want to share the Galations 5:22 scripture; it outlines the Fruits of the Spirit. This scripture has helped me live my life more proactively and it is a constant reminder to uphold God’s spiritual standard versus  the worlds standard. LOVE, JOY, PEACE, PATIENCE, KINDNESS, GOODNESS, FAITHFULNESS, GENTLENESS, AND SELF CONTROL photo-38 Bearing Good Fruit Today’s Daily Devotional Scripture is below and I wanted to share this because as a woman, I believe the first steps to fearing God is receiving his love and striving to take on his characteristics. This scripture is a reminder that beauty fades and charm can be deceitful,  but the real substance about one’s character is in the fruit in which they bear. So many women in pop-culture and in the media are praised for their beauty and outward accomplishments but it is the spirit in which we carry, portray, and operate in that will bear a fruitful life. This scripture challenges me to ask myself daily: What fruit are you bearing? photo-37 The Fruits of the Spirit derive from God’s Love, inherently making LOVE the most important of all of the nine attributes because it is the acknowledgement, receipt and act  of LOVE that drives us to be motivated to take on the rest of the fruits of the spirit. I love Joyce Meyer’s quote about God’s Love- I use it as motivational starting point to bear good fruit

How do you love your neighbor? First, you must learn to receive God’s love for yourself. Until then, you can’t truly love anyone else. You may do all the right things, but your motivation will be all wrong. – Joyce Meyer

Below is a Fruit of the Spirit Scripture Chart which explains what each of the nine attributes mean and biblical scripture references photo-30

LETS BEAR GOOD FRUIT TOGETHER!

photo-39

Tagged , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Bearing Good Fruit

  1. Trisha says:

    Thank you for putting this up. It is truly a blessing to me and exactly what I needed to read this morning.

  2. Deborah Briggs says:

    Proverbs 31:30 was the first scripture I memorized. It’s planted deep in my heart and has been the standardard and one of the major directives in my journey. Thanks for sharing what really matters.
    MOM

    • ldbriggs says:

      You know you are the best teacher anyone could ask for. Through your guidance, teaching, and coupled with my own experiences I am able to share 🙂 Love you Mom!

Leave a Reply

