The Social Media Journey: What Makes Me #SOME

Image

One of the first inquiries upon meeting someone is: Are you on Facebook? or after a few minutes of exchanged ideas, both you and the other person feel compelled to now find one another on Twitter and Instagram. In less than 10 minutes, a person you know very little about is now connected to you socially- and  the impression they come up with about you is all dependent on the type of information that is shared.

My goal on this ever-evolving journey of Social Media is to find my most engaging voice on the elements that I am most passionate about. I strive to use this as a catalyst to enhance my presence along with making the information I share, beneficial to others. Through my Social Media journey I want people to realize the voice that makes me “So Me”.

What has intrigued me most about all social media platforms is the freedom of authenticity and transparency we are given to tell, show, and prove the stories of our lives. We have sole power to create our online image, however I am fascinated in what is true and what are facades. Are you and industry leader? Or are you just a person who likes to talk?

storytelling here

It is important for me to always find the humane element in everything I do, and it is exciting to see how others portray themselves online- What their talking about, sharing, and engaging in. Just like the saying goes, “You can judge a book by its cover- it is the same for social- it is important for all of us to be wise and aware of our online reputation.

I was elated to be a apart of the Social Media Theory and Platforms class #NewhouseSM6 with Dr. Ward- and I am hoping this class and beyond will take me to a new social level, both personally and professionally.  Visula Social MediaI am most interested through the project presentation to see how much my classmates and I learn about leading business women who spread and reinforce their business story through visuals on social media.

The social media journey has been great so far… let’s see where else it will take me!

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

